Fred Perry Trophy

Home »


Fred Perry Trophy


The Fred Perry Trophy is a GUI Fourball Matchplay event aimed at those over 55 years of age.  In the provincial section, matches played are split between the home and away venue depending on the draw and the Leinster final is played at a neutral venue.  The Leinster champions go on the the All Ireland semi-finals.

The Basics:

  • Team consists of 10 players aged 55 year or over on Jan 1st
  • Four-Ball better ball Match Play
  • Handicap
    • Must have held a handicap of 28 or lower in the previous calendar year
    • Lowest handicap in the previous calendar year is the handicap applicable for the purposes of the competition.
    • Combined handicap must not exceed 42.  Combined pairs exceeding this limit are ineligible to play (dropping down in handicap for these purposes is not permitted).
  • Handicap Allowances
    • Lowest handicapped player goes to scratch
    • Other players are allocated 90% of the difference between the lowest handicapped player and their own.
  • Each player must have had a minimum of 4 returns in qualifying competitions recorded last year
  • Caddies are not permitted

Team Managers

Jamsie & Willie Wallace


New Ross have been drawn to play against Waterford in the first round, with 2 matches taking place at home and 3 in Waterford.  The match will be played by Sunday 5th April 2020.

View full details of the draw below:

Fred Perry Trophy Draw 2020

About Fred Perry

Not to be confused with the renowned British tennis player of the 1930s, who spawned the clothing brand, this tournament is named in honour of the Irish golf administrator of the same name.  Fred Perry, grew up in Bunclody in Co. Wexford and moved to Roscommon in the 1950s where he became involved in the Connacht branch of the GUI.  He was heavily involved in the running of the West of Ireland Championship for over 40 years.  A former President and Trustee of the GUI and better known for his selfless and loyal service to amateur golf in Ireland, Fred Perry passed away in 2018.